One Last Waltz

Guess they weren’t shittin’ me when they said the white man can’t walk that path. Some small part of me was hoping they were bluffing, but damn, hell, well, guess that little bastard was right. Ain’t got the haunches, he said. Wanted to show him, Belle. Really did. But that was before this crushed ankle, before the broken collar bone. Long before this snarling beast came to start circling me, knowing I’m the only thing he has to eat for the next month, being as corpulent as I have become since you dismissed me from our pretty and perfect little happy world. Thought I might find us out here, but I only found a darker space than I had left. Oh cruel irony. But realize that there is a smile on my face, knowing there will be better arms that I will be led into very soon. Please don’t cry for me, Belle. I never gave you that honor. Pray the angels each light a candle for me and make bright and clear my path. I feel that final corridor may be rather dark…

Published in: on April 25, 2008 at 10:24 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://backwords.wordpress.com/2008/04/25/one-last-waltz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

